top of page

ESD #1 Board Members

President - Derek Herring

Vice-President - Karen Gallaher

Treasurer - Lisa Murphy

Member At Large - Randy Schaefer 

Member At Large - Dorsett

Caldwell / Hays ESD #1 currently has a Board of 5 Commissioners. We are in a unique situation in being the ESD board for a fire protection district covering two counties (Hays and Caldwell)

As elected officials, the Commissioners serve as the representatives of the citizens who live in the District. The Commissioners are responsible for making certain the District is meeting the needs of those they serve. While the Fire Chief is the Chief Administrative Officer of the District and makes the day to day operational decisions, it is the Board’s responsibility to oversee the larger District considerations. Among these responsibilities are ensuring that District staff complies with applicable State and Federal mandates, preserving the District’s property and assets, stewarding the District’s finances and affairs, adopting an annual budget and monitoring progress towards reaching established goals.  

Caldwell / Hays ESD#1 meets monthly, usually on the second Tuesday each month. It is highly encouraged that members of the community attend these meetings.

For more information on what an ESD is, Please click the link below.

bottom of page